Purple Rain disappointment.............

sevenfourate

Devotee of OCD
Paid Member
Friend bought me some of this:

http://www.autobritedirect.co.uk/index.php/purple-rain-2-0-iron-decontamination-remover.html

I've never used this type of stuff before, but have clearly seen the pics of people detailing their cars who have completely dark purple wheels. I've also seen people apply to dirty wheels without any sort of pre-wsh. And whilst that may look good colour / bleeding wise in a photo.......this stuff isnt supposedly good at getting off road-grime. And its not what the instructions say. They say APPLY TO CLEAN WHEELS. Its purpose is purely for removing metallic particles embedded in or deeply ingrained in paint or on wheels.

Im in the middle of giving the wifes car a once over. Outside hasn't been done for a month or more. Her Silver alloys were literally black.

So i cleaned first of all with a sponge and fairly liquid (Wouldn't normally use this - certainly not on mine !- but i wanted something slightly harsher to get all the crud in the hard to get to bits off).

Rinsed and let dry as per the instructions and sprayed on the Purple Rain.

NOTHING. Barely a purple trail what-so-ever. 99.5% of what was coming off had done so with a sponge and fairly liquid. The effect of any Purple Rain was virtually zero.

I don't at all think the product ive used is poor. I just now think all the heavy-bleeding / dark purple wheel pics you see are people applying it to heavily soiled / unclean wheels.

Maybe i need to do this too. But if thats the case why would i spend £10 - £12 on a bottle when a sponge and some sort of lubrication has achieved the same thing..........

Anyone else use this type of thing in their regular cleaning regime ?

Maybe you just did that good a job at cleaning them initially, that there was nothing left for the Purple Rain to remove?