Camera's on Phones.................

sevenfourate

Devotee of OCD
Paid Member
What do you camera people think of the camera's on modern phones ?

Whats the Phone to have if you wanna snap some good shots ? Both bang-up to date and some slightly older models for those on a budget........

I'm no expert but i do struggle a little on my iphone 6. Options / settings / variables are nothing like as comprehensive as any modern digital, and the pics i do take are nothing like even a basic point and shoot Lumix etc captures from my experience.

Could just be me of course !

Last edited:
well im no expert at this at all but im pretty happy with my Asus zenfone..before that i had a sony ericson vivaz that could take pictures in HD..we are talking 8 even more years ago..all my photos (Route 500 in Scotland) were taken with my phone..im happy with the quality..you can judge them too

I think Panasonic do a camera phone lot money, I think phone comes in handy but slr if u like pics

http://www.dxomark.com/Mobiles/Moto-X-Style-Mobile-review-Style-and-Substance/Ranking

DXO rating are pretty reliable, Galaxy S6edge is current champ but if you would rather iOS the 6S+ is not far behind. I think the big difference between big phones like the plus and smaller phones like your 6 is the optical image stabiliser.

Im perfectly happy with my iPhone 6+ for day to day snaps, the sweep panorama mode is actually better than my big cameras!

Last edited:
Also, before changing consider using an alternate camera app as you can get lots with manual ISO and shutter speed etc.

I cant / wouldn't change phones as its a paid for company phone and seeing as its free i'm very happy with it ! I got a 6 not a 6+ as it spends most of its life in my overalls pocket on-site. Anything too big is a pain....

BUT: The alternative camera app is a good shout and i didnt realise.

Any suggestions or experience ?