Xenon lights misbehaving...

Discussion in 'Body Work and Exterior Lights' started by Barney626, Sep 4, 2017.

  1. Barney626

    Barney626 Winner - POTM December 2017

    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Car:
    Clio 197 - Nimbus
    Definitely getting to the point of looking at CLIP.

    Actively figuring out whether I have an old laptop to put a 32bit system on. Can you not emulate a 32bit in the 64bit?
     

  2. tcw

    tcw Paid Member

    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Car:
    Clio 197
    I suspect you could happily run it in Virtual Box - though I haven't done it myself.
     
  3. Barney626

    Barney626 Winner - POTM December 2017

    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Car:
    Clio 197 - Nimbus
    So had the car up to do an oil change today and got a bit more access to the front sensor. Tried looking at it with my head positioned by the first cat on the exhaust and saw this:

    F8RuspS.jpg

    Think I may have found the problem. Frayed wire coming out of the connection to the sensor. Presumably the loose wire (Furthest left one) has been brushing back across the stub causing an intermittent signal?

    Any idea how to fix this one? The access to it is horrific on jacks so might end up sending it into the garage just so they can get at it on a lift...
     
  4. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    Good find! You might be able to solder the two wires together once you get it out but I'd guess it will need a new a crimp putting on. Given how hard it is to get at that won't be easy, can you unclip the loom to drop it down underneath the subframe to work on?

    [​IMG]

    The connectors are usually made by AMP but there's so many variations finding the right one can be a PITA. I think Renault can supply them individually but knowing Renault they will try to sell you the whole loom. I've had a quick scout through dialogs and this is the only one that looks similar to me...

    Untitled.jpg

    * disclaimer, there are 40 pages of connectors!

    Proper AMP crimp tools are mega money, you can just use pliers if you need to but I've got a set of these which come in handy:

    https://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/universal-...iers-engineer-pa-20-/261110204270?_mwBanner=1

    Glad you're getting to the bottom of it :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2018
    ///M likes this.
  5. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    I've done it using VMware and an old version of windows XP, works fine and cost free.:smiley:
     
  6. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018
    ///M and Barney626 like this.
  7. Barney626

    Barney626 Winner - POTM December 2017

    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Car:
    Clio 197 - Nimbus
    Cheers for the epic research link.

    Have left it a few days since I moved that wire out of the way and since then I haven't had them flick up. So fingers crossed as a temporary fix this will hold until I can figure out how to properly repair it.
     
  8. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    Decided to whip my rear sensor off today to have a look, found corrosion on the crimps and hopefully the source of my problems...

    DSC_0824.JPG

    Ordered some new crimps and housing from Farnell for £3, going to test the sensor at work tommorow so fingers crossed cheap fix! :thumb:
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2018
  9. Doogle

    Doogle Winner - POTM March 2018 Paid Member

    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Car:
    BMW e46 330cd
    Any joy with this bud? Glad you found the problem.

    I looked at my rear sensor the other day, the linkage is so loose it wouldnt do anything. Whilst the lights were turned on I tried flexing the rear linkage and nothing happened. I suspect the rear sensor only works for the rear when its really loaded up.
     
  10. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    I've fitted a new connector so that's good now, sadly my rear sensor tested iffy so it's no good. :cry:

    Things I have learnt, you should get 5 volts to the sensors but only if the cars running so if your fiddling with the sensor without it probably won't do much. The linkage unclips pretty easily just don't force it as I've seen a few held on with split pins etc. after the tabs broken off.

    I've bought a 2nd hand sensor in the hope that it'll save me forking out £140 for a new sensor, with any luck it'll be here later this week so I'll update in due course...
     
    Doogle likes this.
  11. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    Finally got this sorted, got a second hand sensor for £40 and thankfully it works!

    DSC_0874.JPG

    I can also confirm if you unclip the sensor, start the car and turn lights on you can move the arm around and watch the lights move about. :thumb:
     
    ///M and Doogle like this.
  12. Doogle

    Doogle Winner - POTM March 2018 Paid Member

    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Car:
    BMW e46 330cd
    Good news! Glad you sorted it bud.
     
  13. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    Just for @Barney626

    The sensor itself is housed in a hard plastic shell, I thought it was encapsulated but the lid is glued around the edge with an epoxy resin...

    _20180601_140141.JPG

    Since this is duff I got the drill out, put a few holes in it and managed to smash the lid out...

    DSC_0883.JPG

    Inside is a small PCB, as you can see heavily corroded! Tried cleaning with electrosolve but it's too far gone all the tracks are fecked...

    DSC_0886.JPG

    I was a bit heavy handed here but underneath is no better, you can even see where the copper tracks have transferred to the plastic!

    DSC_0887.JPG

    So all in all not good, if you could source a new PCB repairing them is doable with a bit more care... But you've more chance of finding a virgin in a brothel! :laughing:
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2018
    Barney626 likes this.
  14. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    One other thing I should mention is that I dont think water has got into the sensor from the shaft but from the connector...

    I've packed my new connector full of vaseline to try and protect it in future, could be a good preventative measure . :innocent:
     
  15. Barney626

    Barney626 Winner - POTM December 2017

    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Car:
    Clio 197 - Nimbus
    Basically you're just better off getting a new sensor...

    Well that sucks.
     
  16. link

    link Gold Member

    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Car:
    Clio 197 RB
    Well either that or chance a second hand one, to be fair I drove home tonight and that's best £40 I've spent in a while... I'd completely forgot how awesome xenon's are when they work properly, it's like turning on the sun!

    I can also confirm the lights pop up when you turn on full beam, sweeeeeeeeeeet :sunglasses:
     

  • Share This Page


    1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
      By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.