200 gearbox oil

Evening all,

Can someone recommend a good gearbox oil for the clio 200? Is the standard renault stuff ok?

Perhaps an oil change won't do it any harm after 21k miles and a few track/driving days. I had a brilliant day of driving over in North Wales yesterday. The box this morning, admittedly when cold, seems to be overly stiff when engaging first gear?

Thanks.

Have a look on Opie Oils website, if you select your car it'll give you the options you have.

There's loads of opinions on here about what's best. I currently use Fuchs Titan Sintofluid. Not sure if it's the best available, or what benefits you'd get from something else but it works and is suggested by Opie

http://www.opieoils.co.uk/p-981-fuc...w-80-synthetic-manual-transmission-fluid.aspx

I used this in my old 197, Seemed to help a great deal with the cold start and synchro issues common on the gearboxes.

Thanks chaps. I did find quite a bit after a search. I'm new to this clio game and from what i have read, reliability issues are a little common of the gearbox. I will let you know how I get on.

Lee

just bin the renault oil and put in some fully synthetic oil its the least these gearboxes need :bash:

I was thinking of changing mine as a hopefully preventative measure. What I would be concerned about is I guess Renault would wash their hands of any issues as a change of oil from their own would give them an easy getout. Would they be able to tell if it had been changed, then changed back in the event of a problem?

I was thinking of changing mine as a hopefully preventative measure. What I would be concerned about is I guess Renault would wash their hands of any issues as a change of oil from their own would give them an easy getout. Would they be able to tell if it had been changed, then changed back in the event of a problem?

yes probably..

yes probably..