Garaging the R27 over winter

Well its almost time to park up my R27 in the garage over winter. My main reason for doing this is because I live out in the sticks and the hill I live on is not too friendly in winter!! So I have bought a little run around for winter time. The tax runs out on the Clio at the end of the month so there is no real point in taxing it again until next year now.
Has anyone got any tips on storing the clio as I have never done it before i.e. Tyres, battery, fuel etc.............

i was considering this myself....

dont leave it with the handbrake on

use a smart charger if you can to keep the battery in tip top condition - if you cant make sure you can get in via the passenger door if the battery gives up!!!

put a few more psi in the tyres as they will loose pressure whilst being stood and you dont want the tyres to be too flat

consider putting a cover over it to stop dirt/dust etc and help keep it insulated slightly so it doesnt freeze on the inside

Last edited:
i was considering this myself....

dont leave it with the handbrake on

use a smart charger if you can to keep the battery in tip top condition - if you cant make sure you can get in via the passenger if the battery gives up!!!

put a few more psi in the tyres as they will loose pressure whilst being stood and you dont want the tyres to be too flat

consider putting a cover over it to stop dirt/dust etc and help keep it insulated slightly so it doesnt freeze on the inside

Very good advice. :thumbup1:

Mine has been stood since the beginning of August in my garage (we've just moved house so all my time is taken on decorating at the minute). I start mine once a week with the garage door open and leave it ticking over for 20 minutes or so.

You are best off not starting it periodically, just starting it to just let it idle won't do it any good, the exhaust will get condensation in it but won't get warm enough to evaporate it and you stand a greater chance of coking up your plugs.