Fitting inner tie rods

Went to get my tie rods, track rods and wheel alignment done today

I told the garage that the tie rods have no flats on them and a special tool is required and was told it would be fine

Anyway they couldn't get them off as they tried stilsons and isn't enough room on the 197.

So I went to 3 other places 2 said they didn't have tool and 3rd was Renault who wanted £200 labour

I found a local garage who say they can do it as they have a 'wrak wrench' tool which should fit

Can't believe how hard this has been to get done. I was going to do it myself but as the tool is so expensive I decided to go to a garage and I need the wheel alignment done anyway.

u need a set of plumbers dogs. these will move it as the harder u push the tighter they grip.

What do you mean stilsons? im a plumber and never heard of them lol

The garage today tried a pair of stilsons and there wasn't enough room

I've seen a specific tool which fits over and bites onto the socket but they're £75!

stilsons yeah thats there proper name if they dont move it try to let some GT85 soak in a an hour before probably just seized.

weird have you tried a smaller set of stilsons? i fail to see a special tool that would do this that isnt a stilson spanner thingy.

oh right yeah i see now. would it be worth buying and selling back on?

thats what im going to do mate.

only reason i took it to a garage in the first place was cos it would cost me same amount t buy tool as it did for them to do the work

also the tracking is out so wanted to kill 2 birds at once.

im back to work on wednesday so im going to see if i can fab something up

a 300mm length of 3/4" pipe (to fit over tie rod) with a 32mm socket on the end drilled and tapped around the circumference in 3 or 4 places with grub screws to bite into and hold the old ball and socket. weld an old socket with a square drive on the outer end to get torque wrench on and bobs your uncle.

industrial. working offshore mainly