Running in period?

Got a 200 cup almost 3 weeks ago, and done almost 600 miles. Been taking it easy and changing up gear at 3,000, and now and again at 3,500 revs. I'm no car expert, but when can I start to take it further, 4,000, 5,000, 6,000 and all the way to 7,500 revs? I've read different things on various sites. When I picked it up I was told there was no "running in" period. Appreciate any advice.

I'd look in the manual as that is most likely to tell you. But when i bought my Campus from new it was 1500 miles until it was run in and the manual said to not take it above 3500 rpm. But if you steadily increase the rpm after that then that's best.

And when I come looking on this and similar forums for a used 200 I will be looking at posts where the owners have thrashed their cars from new. You are doing the right thing taking it easy for the first K.

it's all about varying the revs don't keep it pinned to 3000 etc as this can glaze the bearings. tolerances are so much better now that running in periods are not really an issue a steady run in for the first 600 then it should be ok for short blasts take it easy for the first 1500, do an oil change then it should be fine, don't forget these engines are not really bedded in for at least 20,000 miles.

We ran ours in to the owners manual and ours puts out good power. As minimaxs says just start to get a bit higher with it every few hundred miles. The engine in the Clio takes ages to loosen up btw, ours is on 21k and is still a bit tight lol

So as a general rule...

<600 mls 3000rpm
600-700 mls 4000rpm
700-800 mls 5000rpm
800-900 mls 6000rpm
900-1000 mls 7000rpm
1000-1100 mls 7500rpm

As ill be doing 300 miles a month its going to be nearly 4 months until I can track it! Which will be in december! Damn it!

I can see some long drives just to get the run in period over asap

So as a general rule...

<600 mls 3000rpm
600-700 mls 4000rpm
700-800 mls 5000rpm
800-900 mls 6000rpm
900-1000 mls 7000rpm